Skip to main content

Updating Security Roles

The following instructions for Faculty Profile managers are part of routine maintenance of Faculty Profile and should be used at least twice a year. This process should only take 5-10 minutes.

Each person given access to Faculty Profile retains access to private faculty records until their account is disabled or deleted, even if the person is no longer employed or enrolled at BYU. Therefore, it is important to review the list of people given access to your college and department records in Faculty Profile regularly. If you assign students to security roles, you may want to review these roles once a semester (or make it a habit to update student accounts as soon they leave or no longer need access).

Step‐by‐step Instructions

A. Log into Faculty Profile and select Users and Security under the Tools tab on the top menu bar. Click View Security Roles.

B. You should see a list of all Faculty Profile Security Roles. The following are the roles relevant to colleges and departments. (For more information on the rights attached to each of these roles, see Security Role Descriptions.)

  • College Administrator (View and edit all faculty in the college)
  • College Read-Only (View faculty in the college)
  • Department Administrator (View and edit all faculty in the department)
  • Department Read-Only (View all faculty in the department)
  • Individual (View and edit another individual faculty member)
  • Faculty (View and edit your own faculty records) [This role is managed by the university.]

C. For each of the above roles EXCEPT Faculty, complete the following steps.

  1. Click the box next to Users. This will display all users with the indicated role. (You may need to scroll down to view all users.)
  2. Find any user that should no longer have this role. Click on the pencil icon next to the person’s name to edit the account. After clicking on the pencil icon, you will see all of the security roles this person has.
  3. Follow the instructions below based on the what you see on the screen. Whatever you do:

    BE CAREFUL TO NEVER DELETE SOMEONE OR YOU MAY DELETE ALL OF A FACULTY MEMBER’S WORK!

If there IS a checkmark next to the Faculty box:

  1. Uncheck the college and department rights that person should NOT have.
  2. LEAVE THE FACULTY BOX CHECKED.
  3. Click Save at the bottom of the screen.
  4. NOTE: Never Disable faculty; this is done automatically through OIT.

If there is NO checkmark next to the Faculty box:

  1. Click on Disable User at the top of the screen.
  2. Click Save at the bottom of the screen.
  3. NOTE: No check next to the Faculty box means this person was entered into Faculty Profile manually and should be disabled.